Nickname Marathon Man
Birthdate January 10, 1983
Birth City Niles, MI
Current City Goshen, IN
Sport Marathon Running
Doing sport since age? 16 years old
Proudest athletic accomplishment of 2011? When I reflect on my 2011 races I will never forget the Grand Rapids Marathon. I was fortunate enough to win the marathon in a time of 2:27:44, which came one week after setting a new personal record of 2:25:44. Soon after crossing the finish line I was informed my closest aunt had passed away that morning.
Most memorable moment participating in your sport? In 2011 at the Rochester Marathon my wife and I both won and broke the course records. I ran a 2:26 and she ran a 2:56. It was a fun day for our family.
Plans and goals for 2012? In 2012 I am aiming to run around 25 marathons. My goal is to be competitive in these events, break some mental and physical barriers, and lower my personal best time.
What’s your go-to GU product? GU Roctane Gels must be directly from Heaven as they make me feel like I could run for eternity.
How do you use it? Typically I use 3-5 GU Roctane Gels during a marathon. I also use them on any run that is longer than 10 miles.
What characteristics do you most respect in your competitors? Fearlessness to compete regardless of the obstacles they had to overcome in their life journey.
What drives you to run? People who doubt my abilities flame my internal fire to succeed. They motivate me to push to a higher level.
What do you enjoy most about your sport? Running is one of the few sports where an average person can relate and interact with elite athletes. You are running the same course, dealing with the same hills, and are able to encourage each other.
Favorite city you’ve raced in? The Kona Marathon in Kona, Hawaii is one of my favorite cities and races to run in. I like racing in the heat, which this race has plenty of.
Do you have any words of advice, or tips and tricks for aspiring runners? Training for a marathon is similar to a dress rehearsal for a play; you need to be practicing what you will do during the big performance. This includes creating and practicing a nutritional plan based around GU Energy Products.
Three things people don’t know about you? My pre-race supper is typically whatever is closest to my motel and cheap, Taco Bell or Subway most times, I drive an old beat up pickup truck with over 300,000 miles on it. It keeps me humble, my best friend is my 2 year old son Miles. We are together all the time!
Top 5 hobbies when you’re not running? I cross train by cutting and splitting firewood, coach athletes via the internet, farm work with my family, I play with my 2 year old son, and watch sports on television at the end of a training day.